Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize 2019 opens for submissions

Claire Coughlan
News - Prizes Monday, 07 January 2019

International prize for new writing in the Wilbur Smith tradition

Submissions for the 2019 Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize are now open. The international prize is now in its fourth year. Entries are accepted from writers of any nationality, writing in English. The deadline is 1 March.

Best Published Novel (£15,000) - novels must be published by a recognised trade publisher between 1 May 2018 and 30 April 2019. Proof copies are accepted.

Best Unpublished Manuscript. The prize is a publishing deal with Bonnier Books UK, with a £15,000 advance. Submissions must exceed 50,000 words in length. The author must not be represented by a literary agent or already have a novel published. Self-published books are eligible. Each shortlisted author will receive three months of one-to-one manuscript development.

The judges are:

• Kirsty Coventry, gold-medal Olympic swimmer and minister of youth, sport, arts and recreation in Zimbabwe

• Alex Crawford, Sky News foreign correspondent

• Abir Mukherjee, author and winner of the 2018 Adventure Writing Prize

• Kevin Conroy Scott, Wilbur Smith's literary agent

• Sue Wilkinson MBE, chief executive of the Reading Agency

• Levison Wood, explorer, writer and photographer

The shortlist for both awards will be announced in May, and the awards ceremony will take place on 12 September at Stationers' Hall. Entries must be submitted digitally via www.wilbur-niso-smithfoundation.org.

The Wilbur & Niso Smith Foundation also runs the Author of Tomorrow, a short story prize for young writers aged 21 and under. The 2019 Author of Tomorrow will open for submissions on 4 March.

Photo: Niso and Wilbur Smith

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »