SoA calls for 2018 Authors' Awards entries

News - Prizes Monday, 11 September 2017

Betty Trask, Eric Gregory, McKitterick, Somerset Maugham, Tom-Gallon awards open, with more inclusive nationality criteria

The Society of Authors (SoA) is calling for entries to five of its 2018 Authors' Awards, which this year were worth a total of £94,000.

Betty Trask Prize and Awards
For a first novel by a writer under 35. ​Total fund worth at least £20,000. Deadline: 30 November.

Eric Gregory Awards
For a collection of poems by a poet under 30. Total fund: £20,000. Deadline: 31 October.

McKitterick Prize
For a first novel by a writer over 40. Total fund: £5,000. Deadline: 31 October.

Somerset Maugham Awards
For published works of fiction, non-fiction or poetry by writers under 35, to enable young writers to enrich their work by gaining experience of foreign countries. Total fund: £10,000. Deadline: 30 November.

Tom-Gallon Trust Award
For a short story by a writer who has had at least one short story accepted for publication. Total fund: £1,500. Deadline: 31 October.

The awards, to be presented next summer, will also include the Cholmondeley Awards (individual poets), the Elizabeth Longford Prize for Historical Biography, and the Travelling Scholarships.

The SoA has introduced new eligibility criteria, designed to make the awards more inclusive. Authors must either be British nationals or have been resident in Great Britain and Northern Ireland (or in the case of the Betty Trask, the Commonwealth) for three years before the submission date. Previously, authors had to be British by birth, or in the case of the Betty Trask, a citizen of the Commonwealth.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »