Oscar's Book Prize 2020 open for entries

News - Prizes Tuesday, 14 January 2020

Francesca Simon, Dermot O'Leary among judges of £5,000 prize for book for under 5s

Dermot O'Leary, Francesca Simon, Jake Hope, Viveka Alvestrand, Simon Johnson and James Ashton are to judge the 2020 Oscar's Book Prize.

The £5,000 prize, now in its seventh year, is for a book for the under 5s. It was created by the parents of Oscar Ashton following his death aged 3 from a heart condition, and is supported by Amazon and the National Literacy Trust. It is run by the London Evening Standard, of which James Ashton is a former executive editor.

Entries are open now. The deadline is 5pm on Friday 21 February. The prize shortlist will be announced on Friday 17 April, with the winner revealed on Thursday 7 May.

The 2019 prize went to Ed Vere for How To Be a Lion (Puffin).

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »