Orwell longlist revealed

News - Prizes Friday, 17 March 2017

Fourteen titles picked for Orwell Prize for Books 2017 longlist

- The Power by Naomi Alderman (Viking)
- Citizen Clem by John Bew (Quercus)
- The Seven by Ruth Dudley Edwards (Oneworld)
- The Return by Hisham Matar (Viking)
- Black and British by David Olusoga (Macmillan)
- The Life Project by Helen Pearson (Allen Lane)
- Easternisation by Gideon Rachman (The Bodley Head)
- All Out War by Tim Shipman (HarperCollins UK)
- The Marches by Rory Stewart (Vintage, Jonathan Cape)
- Island Story by J. D. Taylor (Repeater)
- And the Sun Shines Now by Adrian Tempany (Faber & Faber)
- Enough Said by Mark Thompson (The Bodley Head)
- Cut by Hibo Wardere, in collaboration with Anna Wharton (Simon & Schuster)
- Another Day in the Death of America by Gary Younge (Guardian Faber)

The judges for the Orwell Prize for Books are Jonathan Derbyshire (executive comment editor, Financial Times), playwright and author Bonnie Greer, writer and broadcaster Mark Lawson and writer and critic Erica Wagner. The judges commented:

"From Hadrian’s Wall to Brexit and a dystopian fictional future, this year’s list offers a clear and calm perspective on Britain and its place in the world. The books reflect many aspects of Orwell’s literary character and interests: fiction, journalism, football, language and landscape."

Shortlists for the Orwell Prize for Books will be announced at a special lecture with Ruth Davidson, Scottish Conservative leader on 15 May, together with shortlists for the Orwell Prize for Journalism and the Orwell Prize for Exposing Britain’s Social Evils. The winner of each £3000 prize will be announced at a ceremony during UCL’s Festival of Culture on 8 June.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »