Kim Scott Walwyn Prize 2019 opens for submissions

News - Publishing Monday, 18 February 2019

Prize recognises the achievements of women in publishing

The Kim Scott Walwyn Prize 2019 has opened for submissions. The prize recognises the achievements and promise of women in publishing, and is open to any woman who has worked in publishing in the UK for up to seven years. Past winners have included Alice Curry, Miriam Robinson, Rukhsana Yasmin, Clare Alexander and Lynette Owen.

The deadline for applications is 5pm on Monday 18 March. Publishing professionals who wish to make nominations should do so by 5pm on Monday 25 February.

Lantana Press founder Alice Curry, the 2017 winner, said: "Winning the Kim Scott Walwyn Prize has been one of my proudest moments. Not only did it feel like a validation of my decision to take risks in my career and follow my passion despite the challenges, but also renewed my confidence in the publishing industry as a whole in its capacity to welcome and celebrate change-makers. To anyone wondering about applying, I have absolutely no hesitation in saying go for it!"

Kim Scott Walwyn, publishing director at Oxford University Press, died in 2002 at the age of 45. The prize in her memory was founded a year later. It is run in partnership with the Society of Young Publishers (SYP), which sponsors the winner's cheque of £1,000.

The judging panel will be jointly chaired by Catherine Clarke, agent and md at Felicity Bryan Associates, and Denise Johnstone-Burt, executive editorial director at Walker Books. They will be joined by Alice Curry, Ain Deheb Bensenouci (2018 chair of the Society of Young Publishers and senior academic partnership manager at Epigeum), and prize committee members Rukhsana Yasmin (deputy editor of Wasafiri magazine and winner of the 2012 Prize), Julia Kingsford (co-founder of Kingsford Campbell and the Good Agency); and Emma Paterson (agent at Aitken Alexander Associates).

The shortlist announcement will be on Wednesday 1 May. The winner announcement will be on Tuesday 28 May 2019 at a ceremony at Stationers' Hall in central London, where the keynote speaker will be Deborah Frances-White, comedian and creator of the hit podcast The Guilty Feminist.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »