Eccles Writer's Award 2021 open for entries

News - Prizes Monday, 18 May 2020

£20,000 award for two writers at work on book related to the Americas

Submissions are open for the 2021 Eccles Centre and Hay Festival Writer's Award.

The award, now in its ninth year, goes to two authors whose works - in English or Spanish - relate to the Americas. Winners receive £20,000, a year-long research residency at the British Library (home of the Eccles Centre), and access to the Eccles Centre Platform at Hay Festivals in Wales, Mexico, Peru and Colombia to promote their published works.

Previous winners include Olivia Laing, Erica Wagner and Andrea Wulf. The 2020 awards went to Mexican-born novelists Chloe Aridjis and Daniel Saldaña Paris, who will be in conversation with translator Sophie Hughes about their works in progress as part of the Hay Festival Digital on 29 May. Information and booking here.

The closing date for submissions is 31 July.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »