Theatre Book Prize submissions invited

Ralph Baxter
News - Prizes 01 Sep 2009

Publishers are being invited to submit books for the 2009 Theatre Book Prize , which has also just announced its judging panel.  

The panel, to be chaired by Howard Loxton of the prize's sponsor, the Society for Theatre Research, will include actor and television host Matthew Kelly, Sunday Express theatre critic and Stage and Playbill columnist Mark Shenton, and Professor Jane Moody from the University of York.
The prize, launched in 1997, is presented annually to the best book related to British theatre that year, and aims to encourage the writing and publication of books on theatre history and practice, both those which present the theatre of the past and those which record contemporary theatre for the future .
Eligibility is not restricted to British publishers or authors, and does not include play texts or studies of drama as literature. The closing date for submissions is 12 January 2010, although publishers are requested to submit titles as early as possible - 'ideally, when review copies go out' - to aid the judging process. The shortlist will be announced by early March with the winner announced at a prize ceremony in early April. Last year's prize was awarded to a book on Irish drama, Theatre and Globalisation by Patrick Lonergan, published by Palgrave Macmillan.


Further information can be obtained from


Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »