RNA announces 2019 awards shortlists

News - Prizes Wednesday, 06 February 2019

Seven categories, including newly introduced popular romantic award

The Romantic Novelists' Association (RNA) has announced the shortlists for the 2019 Romantic Novel Awards. The lists include a new award, the Sapere Books Popular Romantic Fiction Award.

The winners will be announced on 4 March at a ceremony in the Gladstone Library, One Whitehall Place, London. Historian and novelist Alison Weir will present the prizes.

Sapere Books Popular Romantic Fiction Award
The Lion Tamer Who Lost, Louise Beech (Orenda Books)
One Thousand Stars and You, Isabelle Broom (Michael Joseph)
You Me Everything, Catherine Isaac (Simon & Schuster)
This Could Change Everything, Jill Mansell (Headline)
A Sky Painted Gold, Laura Wood (Scholastic)

Goldsboro Books Contemporary Romantic Novel Award
One Thousand Stars and You, Isabelle Broom (Michael Joseph)
The Little Cafe in Copenhagen, Julie Caplin (HarperImpulse)
The Songs of Us, Emma Cooper (Headline Review)
Where the Light Gets In, Lucy Dillon (Black Swan)
The House We Called Home, Jenny Oliver (HQ)
The Lives We Touch, Eva Woods (Sphere)

Books and the City Romantic Comedy Novel Award
A Bicycle Made for Two, Mary Jayne Baker (Mirror Books)
The Sister Swap, Fiona Collins (HQ Digital)
Not Just for Christmas, Natalie Cox (Orion)
Adventures in Dating... In Heels, Liam Livings (NineStar Press)
One Summer in Rome, Samantha Tonge (HQ Digital)

Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award
Summer at the Castle Cafe, Donna Ashcroft (Bookouture)
The Little Theatre on the Seafront, Katie Ginger (HQ Digital)
The Rules of Seeing, Joe Heap (HarperCollins)

The Fantasy Romantic Novel Award
Eve of Man, Giovanna and Tom Fletcher (Michael Joseph)
Living in the Past, Jane Lovering (Choc Lit)
Daughter of Light and Shadows, Anna McKerrow (Bookouture)

The Goldsboro Books Historical Romantic Novel Award
The Palace of Lost Dreams, Charlotte Betts (Piatkus)
The Silver Ladies of London, Lesley Eames (Aria)
In the Far Pashmina Mountains, Janet MacLeod Trotter (Lake Union)
The Temptation of Gracie, Santa Montefiore (Simon & Schuster)
Summer of Secrets, Nikola Scott (Headline Review)
The Beekeeper's Promise, Fiona Valpy (Lake Union)

The Shorter Romantic Novel Award
The Warrior's Bride Prize, Jenni Fletcher (Mills & Boon Historical)
A Little Christmas Charm, Kathryn Freeman (Choc Lit)
Secret Baby, Second Chance, Jane Godman (Mills & Boon Romantic Suspense)
A Rational Proposal, Jan Jones (self-published)
The Map of Us, Jules Preston (HarperImpulse)

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »