Polari Prize 2019 longlists announced

Lucy Nathan
News - Prizes Tuesday, 11 June 2019

Patrick Gale and Sarah Moss longlisted for prize recognising work that explores LGBT experience

The longlists for the Polari Prize and Polari First Book Prize have been announced. The prize recognises work that explores that LGBT experience in poetry, prose, fiction or non-fiction. The new Polari Prize, sponsored by DHH Literary Agency and worth £2,000 to the winner, recognises established authors. FMcM Associates sponsors the First Book Prize, with the winner receiving £1,000.

Polari First Book Prize
The House on Half Moon Street - Alex Reeve (Raven)
XX - Angela Chadwick (Dialogue Books)
The Unexpected Love Objects of Dunya Noor - Rana Haddad (Hoopoe)
Soho - Richard Scott (Faber)
Attend - West Camel (Orenda)
Disbanded Kingdom - Polis Loizou (Cloud Lodge)
Not Just a Tomboy - Caspar J Baldwin (Jessica Kingsley)
Next Lesson - Chris Woodley (Aurora Metro)
Queer Sex - Juno Roche (Jessica Kingsley)
Out of the Woods - Luke Turner (Orion)
Visceral - RJ Arkhipov (Zuleika)
Yes You Are Trans Enough - Mia Violet (Jessica Kingsley)

Polari Prize
Drapetomania - John R Gordon (Team Angelica)
The Other Woman - Sophia Blackwell (Burning Eye)
Take Nothing with You - Patrick Gale (Headline)
The Lion Tamer Who Lost - Louise Beech (Orenda Books)
A Simple Scale - David Llewellyn (Seren)
Making Oscar Wilde - Michéle Mendelsshon (Oxford University Press)
Louis & Louise - Julie Cohen (Orion)
Playtime - Andrew McMillan (Penguin)
Prodigal - Charles Lambert (Gallic)
The Bumblebee Flies Anyway - Kate Bradbury (Bloomsbury)
Ghost Wall - Sarah Moss (Granta)
The AQI - David Tait (Smith / Doorstop)

Paul Burston, founder and chair of the judges, said: "The books on this year's longlists celebrate LGBT lives in their many varieties. At a time when reactionary forces are on the rise and political battles won many years ago are being fought all over again, books that tell the truth about who we really are serve a powerful purpose. Stories about trans lives and gender identities feature heavily. There are also books about the changing landscape of our collective experiences, from gay shame to equal marriage. Together these longlists represent the very best in emerging and established LGBT literary talent today."

The judges for the First Book prize are novelist Kiki Archer; writer and performer Cerys Evans; author and former head of literature & spoken word at Southbank Centre Rachel Holmes; and poet and former Polari First Book winner John McCullough. The new prize will be judged by author Bernadine Evaristo; CEO of the National Centre for Writing Chris Gribble; author and performer VG Lee; and playwright and former winner of the Polari First Book Prize Paul McVeigh.

The shortlists will be announced on 26 July at a Polari Literary Salon at the Southbank Centre, while the winner will be announced in October at the London Literature Festival.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »