Orwell Prize 2019 shortlists announced

News - Prizes Monday, 10 June 2019

£3,000 prizes for political fiction and political writing

The shortlists for the Orwell Prize for Political Fiction and the Orwell Prize for Political Writing have been announced. Both prizes are worth £3,000 to the winner. The fiction prize is sponsored by AM Heath and Richard Blair, George Orwell's son.

Ironopolis, Glen James Brown (Parthian)
Milkman, Anna Burns (Faber)
Sabrina, Nick Drnaso (Granta)
Ordinary People, Diana Evans (Chatto)
House of Stone, Novuyo Rosa Tshuma (Atlantic)
Red Clocks, Leni Zumas (Borough Press)
Judges - broadcaster Tom Sutcliffe (chair); Sam Leith, literary editor of the Spectator; author Preti Taneja; Dr Xine Yao, lecturer in American Literature to 1900 at University College London.

Moneyland: Why Thieves And Crooks Now Rule the World and How To Take It Back, Oliver Bullough (Profile)
The Line Becomes a River: Dispatches from the Border, Francisco Cantu (Bodley Head)
Heimat: A German Family Album, Nora Krug (Particular Books)
Say Nothing: A True Story Of Murder and Memory in Northern Ireland, Patrick Radden Keefe (William Collins)
The Growth Delusion: The Wealth and Well-Being of Nations, David Pilling (Bloomsbury)
Nightmarch: Among India's Revolutionary Guerrillas, Alpa Shah (C Hurst)
Judges - Tulip Siddiq MP (chair); Ted Hodgkinson, head of literature and spoken word at Southbank Centre; Robbie Millen, literary editor of the Times; Helen Pankhurst, author and activist.

The winners will be announced on George Orwell's birthday, Tuesday 25 June.

2019 Orwell Prize longlists

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »