Klauss Flugge Prize announces 2019 longlist

News - Prizes Tuesday, 12 February 2019

20 picture book debuts

The longlist for the 2019 Klaus Flugge Prize has been announced.

The prize was set up in 2016 in honour of Andersen Press founder Klaus Flugge, and rewards "the most promising and exciting newcomer to children's book picture book illustration".

The longlist of 20 comes from a submissions list of 50. The judges are former Waterstones Children's Laureate Anthony Browne; Derek Brazell (Association of Illustrators); Seven Stories bookseller Billiejo Carlisle; Farrah Serroukh, learning programme leader at CLPE; and 2018 Klaus Flugge prizewinner Kate Milner. The panel chair is Julia Eccleshare, director of the children's programme of the Hay Festival.

The Long Island, Drew Beckmeyer, editor Taylor Norman, designer Kristine Brogno (Chronicle Books)
Mini Rabbit Not Lost, John Bond, editor Alice Blacker, designer Goldy Broad (HarperCollins Children's Books)
The Extraordinary Gardner, Sam Boughton, edited by Holly Tonks, designer Ness Wood (Tate)
Looking After William, Eve Coy, editor Libby Hamilton, designer Rebecca Garrill (Andersen Press)
The Ink House, Rory Dobner, editor Jo Lightfoot and Katherine Pitt, designer Mariana Sameiro (Laurence King)
Cycle City, Alison Farrell, editor Taylor Norman, designer Ryan Hayes (Chronicle Books)
Erik the Lone Wolf, Sarah Finan, editor Jenny Broom, designer Zoë Tucker (Lincoln Children's Books)
The King Who Banned the Dark, Emily Haworth-Booth, editor Neil Dunnicliffe, designer Lee-May Lim (Pavilion Children's Books)
Maybe the Moon, Frances Ives, editor Jocelyn Norbury, designer Jack Clucas (LOM Art)
I Can Fly, Fifi Kuo, editor Leilani Sparrow, designer David Bennett (Boxer Books)
Julian Is a Mermaid, Jessica Love, editor Tanya Rosie, art director Deirdre McDermott (Walker Books)
Say Hi to Hedgehogs, Jane McGuiness, editor Becky Watson, designer Beth Aves (Walker Books)
You're Safe with Me, Poonam Mistry, written by Chitra Soundar, editor Alice Curry (Lantana Publishing)
The Red Dread, Tom Morgan-Jones, editor Emma Hargarve, designer Julie-Ann Murray (Barrington Stoke)
The Story of Tantrum O'Furrily, Mark Nicholas, written by Cressida Cowell, editor Anne McNeil (Hodder Children's Books)
The Buildings That Made London, Josie Shenoy, editor Saskia Gwinn, designer Sophie Gordon (Bloomsbury)
I Love You Bunny, Alina Surnaite, editor Katie Cotto, designers Mike Jolley and Karissa Santos (Lincoln Children's Books)
The Wardrobe Monster, Bryony Thomson, editor Ruth Huddleston, designer Mike Jolley (Old Barn Books)
Red and the City, Marie Voigt, editor Peter Marley, designer Kate Adams (Oxford)
The Best Sound in the World, Cindy Wume, editor Katie Cotton, designer Zoe Tucker (Lincoln Children's Books)

Anthony Browne will announce the shortlist on 15 May at an evening event at Foyles Charing Cross Road. The winner will be announced on 11 September.


Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »