Judging panel for 2019 Royal Society Science Book Prize announced

Lucy Nathan
News - Prizes Tuesday, 11 June 2019

Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt chairs the panel

The judging panel for the Royal Society Science Book Prize has been revealed. The prize celebrates the best in popular science writing from around the world, and is sponsored by Insight Investment. It is worth £25,000 to the winner, and £2,500 to each of the shortlisted authors.

The chair of the panel is computer scientist and author of The Digital Ape, Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt. He will be joined by author Dorothy Koomson; Dr Shukry James Habib, stem cell specialist and Royal Society University Research Fellow; actor and science communicator Stephen McGann; and controller of BBC Radio 4 and 4 Extra, Gwyneth Williams.

Shadbolt said: "It is a privilege to be chairing the judging panel for the Royal Society Science Book Prize 2019. The prize celebrates great writing about science and the scientists who make it happen. There has never been a more exciting time for popular and accessible science writing. There is a huge appetite for books across all topics of science and writers who can explain and inspire, entertain and inform. Despite the distemper of the times, and claims we live in a post-truth age, there is a real hunger for books that explain our scientific understanding of world around us."

A shortlist of six titles will be announced on 27 August, and the winner will be revealed at a ceremony hosted by Professor Brian Cox at the Royal Society on 23 September.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »