George Cross-winning bomb disposal expert signs two-book fiction deal with S&S

Rights - NonFiction Friday, 15 March 2019

Kim Hughes' memoir Painting the Sand was a Sunday Times bestseller


The deal was brokered by Julian Alexander of The Soho Agency with fiction publishing director Jo Dickinson. The first novel in the contract will be published early in 2020 and will be called Operation Certain Death, introducing the series lead character, bomb disposal expert Dom Riley. A second novel will be published in 2021.

Kim Hughes GC is 'the most highly-decorated bomb disposal operator serving in the British Army. He was awarded the George Cross in 2009 following a gruelling six-month tour of duty in Afghanistan during which he defused 119 improvised explosive devices, survived numerous Taliban ambushes and endured a close encounter with the Secretary of State for Defence. Kim’s memoir, Painting the Sand, has sold over 55,000 copies across all formats.'

Dickinson said: "I am delighted to be working with Kim to launch a new action series. He brings his wealth of knowledge and experience to the novels, and each one promises to be a thrilling and dangerous adventure. This is perfect reading for fans of Andy McNab, Frank Gardner and James Swallow."

Hughes said: "Following the amazing success of Painting the Sand I am thrilled to be working with Simon & Schuster UK again on my first novel. These are exciting times."


Pictured: Kim Hughes (cr Johnny Ring)


Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video

home_page_chart

more charts »