Doughty to chair Llewellyn Rhys

Liz Thomson
News - Prizes 10 Aug 2009

Louise Doughty is to chair the judging panel for this year's John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. The deliberations will be joined by authors Joanna Kavenna and Stephen Knight, and the shortlist will be announced on Monday 26 October.

Said Doughty:' I'm delighted to be asked to chair this year's judging panel for the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. The climate is really tough for new writers at the moment and prizes such as this, which reward good writing across the genres, can provide vital encouragement. I still remember my delight in being shortlisted for my first novel, way back in 1995, and it's great to return as chair of judges 14 years later.'
The winner, announced on 30 November, will receive a cheque for £5,000, with the other shortlisted authors receiving £500 each.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »