Cliveden Literary Festival wins culture award

News - Festivals Wednesday, 21 November 2018

Strong speakers and sold-out event help the Cliveden event win 2018 Walpole British Luxury Award for Cultural Contribution

Cliveden Literary Festival has won the Cultural Contribution Award at the Walpole British Luxury Awards 2018. The award was presented by June Sarpong to Natalie Livingstone, chairman of the festival, at a ceremony held at The Dorchester on Monday. The award is for the high-end British institution or enterprise which has made the strongest impact on the cultural landscape of the UK.

The award comes only two years after the festival launched at the Grade I listed Cliveden House in Buckinghamshire.

The event returned in September and the sold-out weekend event saw an audience of over 1,000 treated to a programme of 20 talks with more than 60 speakers. The strong line-up of speakers included Sir Antony Beevor, Cherie Blair, Alain de Botton, Tina Brown, Paula Byrne, Niall Ferguson, Armando Iannucci, Hanif Kureishi, Dambisa Moyo, David Olusoga, Priti Patel, Sir Simon Schama, Edmund de Waal, Sarah Waters and Naomi Wolf.

Press coverage included a Sky News interview from the event with former head of MI6 Sir Richard Dearlove, footage in a documentary on the Royal Family for the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, as well as features and news stories in The Sunday Times, The Times, Tatler, Country & Town House, HELLO!, Vogue and ELLE.

Helen Brocklebank, ceo of Walpole, said: "Natalie and her fellow festival founders have created something unique with Cliveden Literary Festival. She has gathered together some of Britain’s finest minds for an event which combines the intimacy and intelligence of a literary salon with the glamour and elegance of Glyndebourne."

Livingstone said: "We are thrilled and honoured to receive this prestigious award and look forward to welcoming guests to the next festival at Cliveden on 28th and 29th September 2019."

Other nominees in the category Cliveden won included Donmar Warehouse, Glyndebourne: The Opera Cup, Houghton Hall and Gardens, and The Royal Academy: 250 Year Anniversary. Previous winners include Chatsworth, Royal Shakespeare Company, National Theatre and BBC Proms.

Walpole is the official 'sector body' for UK luxury and its awards, which launched in 2008, are the only event dedicated to celebrating brands and individuals for their work in the luxury sector.

Nine categories are awarded: Luxury with a Heart, Creative Collaboration, Luxury Leader, British Luxury Overseas, Luxury Maker of the Year, British Luxury Brand of the Year and The Brands of Tomorrow Award for Emerging Talent.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »