Bloody Scotland launches 2017 programme

News - Festivals Friday, 02 June 2017

Crime festival to use Stirling Castle as a venue; after the opening reception there will be a public torchlit procession to a talk with Ian Rankin about 30 years of Rebus.

The Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival will celebrate another 30th anniversary with Val McDermid, whose first crime novel was published in September 1987.
Other authors on the programme include Lynda La Plante, Peter May, Mark Billingham, Denise Mina, Karen Rose, Chris Carter, Ann Cleeves, Booker shortlisted Graeme Macrae Burnet, Denzil Meyrick, Mason Cross, Louise Welsh, Simon Kernick, Clare Mackintosh, M J Arlidge and last year's McIlvanney Prize winner Chris Brookmyre. Other familiar names include John Gordon Sinclair, Vince Cable, Douglas Henshall and deputy chief constable of Scotland, Iain Livingstone.

This year Bloody Scotland will welcome a panel of authors who have secured publication as a result of their appearance at a Pitch Perfect session as part of the festival's scheme for new writers, 'Spotlights'. This includes Waterstone's crime fiction buyer turned writer, Joseph Knox.

Chris Brookmyre, winner of the McIlvanney Prize 2016, said: "Bloody Scotland draws crime writers from all over the UK and indeed all over the world, and it does so because it delivers something they crave even more than each other's company and a generous supply of drink. It delivers an enthusiastic and appreciative audience, which continues to grow year on year. One of the reasons for this is that Bloody Scotland is a very relaxed and informal affair, blurring the barriers between writers and readers, between festival and convention."

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »