Avon signs two 'cosmopolitan' romance novels by Rachael Lucas

Claire Coughlan
Rights - Fiction Wednesday, 13 February 2019

Lucas will write under the name Rosie Curtis


Avon (HarperCollins) has signed two "cosmopolitan" romances by bestselling women's fiction author Rachael Lucas, who will write as Rosie Curtis. Lucas is the author of four novels for adults, published by Pan Macmilllan, as well as two YA novels, published by Macmillan Children's Books.

Rachel Faulkner-Willcocks, senior commissioning editor at Avon, negotiated the world rights deal with Amanda Preston at LBA.

The first book in the contract will be out in ebook in September, with a paperback to follow in November. We Met in December is an "unashamedly romantic story, that will appeal to fans of Josie Silver, Richard Curtis, and anyone who ever fell in love with the wrong person". It follows the will-they-won't-they relationship story of Jess and Alex, who meet on a snowy Christmas evening as they're moving into the same floor of a Notting Hill house share.

Faulkner-Willcocks said: "I've been a huge fan of Rachael's writing since I read Sealed With a Kiss right at the start of her career, and I'm excited to be involved in this new strand of her publishing. We Met in December is about more than just romance: it's a brilliant exploration of what it's like to be renting, single and approaching 30 in London, and I know readers are going to fall head over heels for Jess and Alex."

Lucas said: "It's so exciting to be writing as Rosie Curtis with the brilliant team at Avon. I can't wait to share the story of Jess and Alex - I spent my teenage years exploring London and it's been wonderful falling in love with the city all over again as I write."

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video

home_page_chart

more charts »