Writing.ie Short Story of the Year 2018 longlist unveiled

Claire Coughlan
News - Prizes Monday, 08 October 2018

Cecelia Ahern, Nuala O'Connor and Frank McGuinness among contenders

The Short Story category of the An Post Irish Book Awards 2018 has been announced, with several well-known names included. The award, for a single published short story, will be judged by Alison Lyons, director of Dublin UNESCO City of Literature; Bob Johnston from the Gutter Bookshop; and Simon Trewin, Partner at WME. The judges will read every story blind. Of the list of 12 authors, six will be selected for the public vote.

The longlist
Gerard McKeown
Frank McGuinness
Cecelia Ahern (right)
Roisín O’Donnell
Kevin Curran
Nuala O'Connor
Caoilinn Hughes
Mia Gallagher
Martina Devlin
Deirdre Sullivan
Sheila Armstrong
David Butler

Very highly commended:
"Rosses Point" by John Connell - Granta
"Gas and Air" by Jane Lavelle - Dublin Review
"Fortune on Fair Day" by Mary O’Donnell - from Empire (Arlen House)
"These Silver Fish" by Anne O’Brien - from A Short Affair (Simon & Schuster)
"The Host" by Deirdre Sullivan - Banshee issue #7
"The Theft" by Kevin Power - Banshee issue #6

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »