Trailblazers 2019 longlist announced

News - Publishing Monday, 07 January 2019

30 young publishers in contention for LBF/PA awards

The London Book Fair (LBF) has announced the longlist for the 2019 Trailblazer Awards for young people in publishing. LBF runs the awards with the Publishers Association and with support from the Society of Young Publishers. BookBrunch is the media partner.

The 30 young publishers are:

Alexia Thomaidis, Digital marketing executive, HarperCollins UK
Becca Parkinson, Engagement Manager, Comma Press
Becky Brown, Agent, Curtis Brown
Danny Pearson, Publisher, Badger Learning
Ellie Pilcher, Campaigns Officer, Canelo
Emily Heagerty, Senior Marketing Manager, Osprey Publishing (Bloomsbury Publishing)
Flavia Marcocci, Digital Marketing Executive, Polity Press
Grace McCrum, Rights Manager, Hachette UK
Helen Harradine, Senior Consultant, Inspired Selection
Helena Sheffield, Marketing & Comms Manager for Audiobooks, Penguin Random House
Hena Bryan, Founder, Bryan House Publishing
Katie Whitfield, Business Partner, Bloomsbury Publishing
Laura Steele, Senior Account Manager, Four Culture
Leah McDowell, Art & Production Director, Floris Books
Leena Normington, Digital Content Producer, Vintage (Penguin Random House)
Lena Petzke, Rights Assistant, Nosy Crow
Lizzy Goudsmit, Commissioning Editor, Transworld (Penguin Random House)
Lori Anderson, Production Assistant, Bloomsbury
Louise Newton, Audio Editor, Little, Brown Book Group
Melissa Eveleigh, Director/Publisher, March Hamilton
Mia Quibell-Smith, Senior Press Officer, Vintage (Penguin Random House)
Nicola Chang, Agent, Good Literary Agency
Philip Mills, Senior Publications Assistant, PLOS
Rebecca Atkinson, Sales Executive, Rowman & Littlefield International
Rebecca Fortuin, Editor, HarperCollins
Sabby Kaur, Content Licensing Manager, Emerald Publishing
Salma Ibrahim, Founder, Literary Natives
Sarah Minty, Commissioning Editor, Hodder Education
Stephenie Naulls, Marketing Manager, Ebury Publishing (Penguin Random House)
Tanya Harris-Brown, Foreign Rights Manager, Scholastic

A shortlist will be announced on 11 January, and five winners will be announced at a ceremony at Soho House in London on 31 January.

Jacks Thomas, LBF director, said: "As in previous years, the standard of entries has been incredibly high, and this year's longlist highlights the amazing talent which is found across our industry. Narrowing down to a shortlist will be a challenging task for our panel of judges."

The five winners will each receive:

• VIP entry to the London Book Fair, and access to the Club at the Ivy's LBF pop-up
• Tickets to the LBF International Excellence Awards
• An invitation to a dedicated SYP networking event at LBF
• An invitation to join the PA and LBF at a Book Society dinner
• Free pass to the LBF Quantum Conference, Monday 11 March#
• Free annual subscription to BookBrunch

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »