Midas takes on Wolfson History Prize

News - Prizes Friday, 08 February 2019

Leading prize for history hires Midas to run PR and social media effort

The Wolfson Foundation, which runs the £40,000 prize, has appointed Midas Public Relations to manage PR and social media for the 2019 Wolfson History Prize after a pitch.

The prize, the most valuable non-fiction prize in Britain, is regarded as the most prestigious history writing prize in the UK. Previous winners include Mary Beard, Simon Schama, Eric Hobsbawm, Antony Beevor and Antonia Fraser.

Steven Williams, joint ceo at Midas, said: "We’re delighted to be working with the Wolfson Foundation on the 2019 Wolfson History Prize. The Wolfson History Prize plays a vital role in highlighting the importance of all history and historical writing to society today, while celebrating the committed and talented authors who bring the stories of our past to life for the public."

Paul Ramsbottom, chief executive of the Wolfson Foundation said: "The Wolfson History Prize has been recognising the best history writing in the UK for nearly 50 years. The Wolfson Foundation has significant ambitions for the Prize as its profile continues to increase. We want it to celebrate history, to encourage the reading of brilliant history books and to foster public debate about the role of history and the light it sheds on major contemporary issues. We very much looking forward to working with Midas to fulfil these ambitions."

Last year the prize went to Peter Marshall for Heretics and Believers: A History of the English Reformation (Yale).

Photo: Peter Marshall (left) and judge Sir Richard Evans at the 2018 ceremony with chair of judges Sir David Cannadine is in the background (far left)

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »