Longlist for DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 2018 revealed

News - Prizes Thursday, 11 October 2018

The shortlist for the US$25,000 prize will be announced on 14 November in London

The longlist of 16 novels for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 2018 was announced yesterday (10 October) at the Oxford Bookstore, New Delhi, by historian and academic Rudrangshu Mukherjee, chair of the jury panel for the prize.

The shortlist of five or six books for the US$25,000 prize will be announced on 14 November 2018 at the London School of Economics & Political Science (LSE). This year's international jury panel includes Rudrangshu Mukherjee, jury chair, professor of history and the chancellor of Ashoka University; Nandana Sen, a writer, actor and child-rights activist and author of six books, who has worked as a book editor, a poetry translator, a screenwriter, and a script doctor; Claire Armitstead , associate editor, Culture, for the Guardian in London who has been a theatre critic, arts editor and literary editor; Tissa Jayatilaka, who has been the executive director of the United States-Sri Lanka Fulbright Commission and is the author of several publications and has translated and edited many journals; and Firdous Azim, professor of English at BRAC University, Bangladesh, whose research has focused on women's writings in the early twentieth century Bengal.

The longlisted entries for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 2018 are:

Anuradha Roy: All The Lives We Never Lived (Hachette, India)
Arundhati Roy: The Ministry Of Utmost Happiness (Alfred Knopf, USA and Hamish Hamilton, Canada)
Chandrakanta: The Saga Of Satisar (Translated by Ranjana Kaul, Zubaan Books, India)
Deepak Unnikrishnan: Temporary People (Penguin Books, Penguin Random House, India)
Jayant Kaikini: No Presents Please (Translated by Tejaswini Niranjana, Harper Perennial, HarperCollins
Jeet Thayil: The Book Of Chocolate Saints (Aleph Book Company, India and Faber & Faber, UK)
Kamila Shamsie: Home Fire (Riverhead Books, USA and Bloomsbury, UK)
Manu Joseph: Miss Laila Armed And Dangerous (Fourth Estate, HarperCollins, India)
Mohsin Hamid: Exit West (Riverhead Books, USA and Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House, India)
Neel Mukherjee: A State Of Freedom (Chatto & Windus, Vintage, USA and Hamish Hamilton, Penguin
Random House, India)
Perumal Murugan: Poonachi (Translated by N Kalyan Raman, Context, Westland Publications, India)
Prayaag Akbar: Leila (Simon & Schuster, India)
Rita Chowdhury: Chinatown Days (Translated by Rita Chowdhury, Macmillan, Pan Macmillan, India)
SJ Sindu: Marriage Of A Thousand Lies (Soho Press, USA)
Sujit Saraf: Harilal & Sons (Speaking Tiger, India)
Tabish Khair: Night Of Happiness (Picador, Pan Macmillan, India)

Rudrangshu Mukherjee, chair of the jury, said: "My fellow jurors and I read through over 80 works of fiction and then arrived at this list of 16 which we will further prune to prepare a shortlist and then finally a winner. It was an exhilarating and an exhausting exercise reading these books and then preparing this list. Exhausting because of the work involved and I don't need to emphasise this. Exhilarating because of the plethora of extraordinary talent that we encountered. Writers were willing to experiment with form, with unusual themes and to express themselves with elegance. I encountered touching poignancy, wit and verve and great inventiveness. In many ways trying to judge such a talented group of writers is a humbling experience. I am certain when we finish the entire judging process, I, at least, will emerge from it an enriched human being."

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »