Hodder signs young readers series by Shane Hegarty

Rights - Children Tuesday, 08 January 2019

Darkmouth author with three novels about a little robot


Shane Hegarty is to join the Hodder Children's list (Hachette) with his first series for younger readers.

Samantha Swinnerton, senior commissioning editor, signed world rights in three novels in the Boot series through Marianne Gunn O'Connor. Boot, which will have illustrations by Ben Mantle, is pitched as "perfect for fans of WALL-E and Toy Story", and follows a little robot as he tries to find his way home.

Book one is due in May, with the second and third parts coming next year.

Hegarty said: "I am incredibly excited that Boot will be published by Hachette Children's Group, home to so many of the books and authors loved by me and my children. Boot is such a special character for me - a little, lost-but-determined toy full of all the questions and innocence of childhood - and the enthusiasm of everyone at Hachette Children's Group has exceeded anything I could have hoped for."

Publisher Anne McNeil said: "This little robot on a big adventure has melted all of our hearts and we can't wait to introduce him to readers in 2019."

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video

home_page_chart

more charts »