Daily Telegraph named as sponsor for the Sports Book Awards

News - Prizes Friday, 07 December 2018

Newspaper takes over as headline sponsor for the next three years; awards presented at gala dinner at Lord's in June

As well as news of The Telegraph's involvement, the longlist for the Autobiography of the Year Award has been released.

David Willis, chairman of The Telegraph Sports Book Awards said: "We are firstly delighted to welcome The Telegraph as our title sponsor for 2019 in what will be another great year for sport. Our 2019 longlist is once again packed with sporting greats and legendary sports stars from the UK. Any of these fantastic new books would make perfect Christmas gifts and I don’t envy the task of the judging panel to select the best sports Autobiography of the Year."

The longlist for Autobiography of the Year is:-

Kevin Keegan - My Life In Football Macmillan
Geraint Thomas - The Tour According to G Hachette
Michael Carrick - Between The Lines Bonnier
Peter Crouch - How to Be a Footballer Preface Publishing
Stephen Hendry - Me and The Table Bonnier
Moeen Ali - Moeen Atlantic
Sam Quek - Hope and a Hockey Stick Pen & Sword
Doddie Weir - My Name’5 Doddie: The Autobiography Black & White Publishing
Charlotte Dujardin - The Girl on the Dancing Horse Preface Publishing
Jonathan Rea – Dream. Believe. Achieve. My Autobiography HarperCollins
Paul Ferris – The Boy On The Shed Hodder & Stoughton
Alan Smith - Heads Up: My Life Story Little Brown Book Group

The Telegraph Sports Book Awards are judged by sports celebrities, broadcasters and journalists. The judging panels for 2019 include: Dame Katherine Grainger, Christine Ohuruogu, Simon Halliday, Bob Willis, Sir Tim Rice, The Rugby Writers, David Millar, Jill Douglas, Simon Brotherton, Andrew Cotter, Jacuqie Beltrao, Clare Tomlinson, The Football Writers and Rishi Persad.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »