Caryl Phillips to chair Commonwealth prize judges

News - Prizes Wednesday, 10 October 2018

Five further judges announced

Caryl Phillips is to chair the judges for the 2019 Commonwealth Short Story Prize. He will be joined by judges representing the five regions covered by the prize: Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (Africa); Mohammed Hanif (Asia); Karen Lord (Caribbean); Chris Power (Europe and Canada); and Sina Meredith (Pacific).

The prize is open for submissions until 1 November. Regional winners receive £2,500, and the overall winner receives £5,000.

Phillips said: "The short story offers a writer the opportunity to delve into character, explore difficult subject-matter, and be adventurous with form; in short, the writer can do all the things that they might do in a novel, but do so concisely. The Commonwealth Short Story Prize attracts entries which address a wide range of human experience in this complex multi-cultural and multi-racial world, and the prize is open to original stories written in English, or in a variety of other languages representing the diversity of the cultures which make up the Commonwealth."

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »